A multifaceted artist, R. Malcolm Jones is an accomplished director and cinematographer.  Jones is a graduate of the University of Miami School of Motion Pictures. While a student at the University, Jones was granted the Eastman Kodak Award for Best Cinematography.

After graduation R. Malcolm Jones went on to direct over 80 Music Videos for some of the industry's top recording artists. He was nominated for BET Video Director of the Year and an MTV Video Award for Best Hip Hop Video.

R. Malcolm Jones has directed Music Videos Flo Rida, Avril Lavigne, Cassidy feat Swizz Beats, T-Pain, Chris Brown, Lil Mama, Mario, Ray J, R. Kelly, Cali Swag District, K’la, YC, Travis Porter, Jordan Taylor, Vanessa Hudgens, Nas, Clipse, Fat Jose, Brooke Hogan, The Pack, and Roscoe Dash.

R. Malcolm Jones directed the motion picture Secrets of the Magic City starring Jennifer Lewis, Jamie Hector and Keith David. Secrets of the Magic City screened at the 2013 American Black Film Festival (ABFF) in the "Narrative" category it screened at the 2013 Annual Urban World Film Festival in New York City and the 2013 Bronze Lens Film Festival in Atlanta where Jamie Hector and Jenifer Lewis were nominated and won awards for Best Actor and Actress. The film debuted on Centric TV June 26, 2015 and received world wide distribution with EOne Entertainment.

Jones recently completed principle photography of his second feature film Mission Lake in January 2018. The film stars Alex R. Hibbert (Moonlight, The Chi), Marc John Jefferies (Losing Isaiah, Notorious ) and John Beasley (The Purge, Walking Tall).